Free Book Online
Book The Escape

Pdf

The Escape

3.2 (2079)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | The Escape.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    C.L. Taylor(Author)

    Book details


The Sunday Times bestseller returns with her most thrilling book yet, An unputdownable read for fans of Into the Water and The Girlfriend.

"Look after your daughter's things. And your daughter…"

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.

The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

Praise for C.L. Taylor:

‘A gripping and disturbing psychological thriller’ Clare Mackintosh

‘Absorbing and disturbing’ Alex Marwood

‘Loved it’ Fiona Barton

‘Claustrophobic, tense and thrilling’ Elizabeth Haynes

3.3 (10196)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 432 pages
  • C.L. Taylor(Author)
  • Avon (23 Mar. 2017)
  • English
  • 6
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery

Read online or download a free book: The Escape

 

Review Text

  • By River Scott-Tyler on 29 June 2017

    "THE ESCAPE"After leaving work a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift claiming that her son lives on the same street as her and she need's to go a look after her grandchildren, she says yes but she soon wishes she hadn'tThe stranger " Paula" knows a lot about Jo she knows her name her husband max and she has a glove belonging to Jo's daughter Elsie, what begins as a little threat soon turns into a nightmare! soon the police, social services and even her husband max turn against her,Nobody's listening or believes that Elise is in danger but Jo knows, Jo knows her daughter is in danger and that she and Elise are not safe so will little help and no choice SHE RUNS!i was really hooked from the very first page, i'm a huge fan of C.L. TAYLOR and each time i read one of her books i always say this one is my favourite but now i've read "THE ESCAPE" i just cant pick one because they are all great i love them all the same,In "THE ESCAPE" i really loved the characters especially Jo, she suffers from agoraphobia and anxiety & you start to feel protective of her and wanting her to keep going keep running and Escape! you lose yourself in the book and soon start to forget that your the reader and not in the book yourself you feel claustrophobic holding your chest at each page because you don't know whats coming next my heart was beating so fast because i was so entranced, i missed my stop on the train a few times, then there was a point where i couldn't sleep because i had to needed to know what happened next so i stayed up till late to finish the book! "THE ESCAPE" is a highly addictive compulsive unputdownable book that has many shocks twists and turns! all i will say is be warned this book will take over your life till you finished the last word on the page!!

  • By kirsty on 11 April 2017

    I read a book a few months ago about a woman on the edge of a psychological breakdown where it seems that someone is messing with her head to make things worse and that book was awful. Thankfully this one is the opposite. Tense, taught and terrific.She still does some bonkers things such as running away to a seaside town in Ireland where she was born despite her mum saying she should never ever go back there rather than take a visit to social services to check on her daughters well being. Then again how many of us have done something because we were told not to.The book flips between Jo's perspective and that of her husband Max as their marriage falls apart, things get nasty and Jo goes on the run as mentioned. For the first half of the book it's hard to know who to root for and who is the bad guy (a good thing) as there's an intermittent third party that pops up now and again to add another voice to the story.It's only when we get to part 2 where we get to see the bigger picture.There's a subplot mystery that runs throughout the book as well as to why Jo's dad was a bad man who must never be mentioned which gets resolved. It's a bad thing he did and quite unforgivable but I'm not sure why her mum should herself do a runner to another country because of it. Shame? Blame? Small town gossip making life impossible? Who knows.All in all the book is great. It moves quickly, the characters are brilliantly written and something I particularly liked, Elise the 2 year old sounds like a 2 year old. And she cries a lot. Like a normal child in an extraordinary position. Quite often you get books where the small ones have no voice or sound like a teenager.I loved this book. It's a great read and I can't wait for the next one.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: