Free Book Online
Book Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2)

Pdf

Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2)

2.4 (2322)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2).pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    S. J. Parris(Author)

    Book details


A Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, renegade monk, philosopher and heretic, for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose

Autumn, 1583. The skies above England harbour dark omens …

An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.

The court’s loyalties are tested. Its murderous secrets exposed.

When Mary Stuart’s supporters scheme to usurp Queen Elizabeth’s throne, spymaster Francis Walsingham calls on Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman’s murder could point to an even more sinister truth …

Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster – for this man of letters is now an agent of danger and intrigue.

3.4 (9380)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 448 pages
  • S. J. Parris(Author)
  • HarperCollins (18 Aug. 2011)
  • English
  • 4
  • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery

Read online or download a free book: Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2)

 

Review Text

  • By millhall on 18 April 2017

    When I reviewed the first part of this trilogy I was rather critical of the lack of originality. Nevertheless, I have now read the second book and I regret doing so. Not only is the style still a straight copy of S J Sansom, the entire plot is virtually identical to the first volume, though set in a slightly different location - the court of Quenn Elisabeth1 instead of the Oxford cloisters. Otherwise, the components are the same. Unexpected murders, a strained relationship with an unattainable woman, the hero living under constant suspicion and the continued search for a lost book on philosophy. I regret that I found the book tedious rather than exciting. It may be that the author will completely change tack in the third book, but I will not know since I do not intend to read it.

  • By Val Rainbow on 8 September 2016

    Having previously read very good similar books I did not have very high expectations of this,but I was pleasantly surprised. This book has enough convincing detail, believable plot, and good quality narrative to make it a very entertaining read. I enjoyed reading it and am already looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

  • By Anniesphere on 5 August 2017

    I read this book as part of Cityread London 2017. I hadn't read Heresy, the first book in the series, and although this book can be read as a standalone novel I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had read Heresy first. It took me a little longer than I expected to read as I kept losing track of who the characters were. Despite this it was still a very good story with lots of plot twists which kept me guessing.

  • By Cookie on 27 April 2017

    A gripping tale set in Elizabethan England excellently interwoven historical facts and fiction. Will definitely be reading the other 2 books in this trilogy !

  • By Mel on 19 April 2017

    Really enjoyed this. loved the historical context. Bruno is a good anti hero, of sorts. A bit too neatly finished and Bruno`s 9 lives, slightly unbelievable

  • By Cynthia S. on 24 August 2015

    Really excellent story in a great series. Even the slightly gruesome bits (as Tudor times were gruesome) were not too graphic. Very well picthed balance of historical detail, good character studies and an engrossing plot and pace.

  • By Guest on 27 March 2017

    Gripping and historically convincing. A great read. I must read the next one now!

  • By douglas hurrell on 26 June 2017

    another great read by a brilliant author we need more


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: